Teams in Residence -Term 2 2018

Schools teams in attendance at the ALPINE SCHOOL CAMPUS for our Term 2 2018 Alpine School SSL program are from:

  • Boort District School
  • Edenhope College
  • Eaglehawk Secondary College
  • Doncaster Secondary College
  • Coburg High School
  • East Doncaster Secondary College
  • Sunbury Downs College
  • Wycheproof P-12 College
  • Eltham High School
  • Weeroona College Bendigo

Term 2 2018 SSL program at the Alpine School Campus commences:
- Sunday 22 April 2018 (Student Arrival)
– Saturday 30 June 2018 (Student Departure)

School for Student Leadership

School for Student Leadership - Our Aims. Our Mission.

School for Student Leadership

RESOURCES for Students & Teachers

View Our SSL Videoson Google+

Follow Alpine School on Google Plus

Russell Shem

Russell ShemI feel very fortunate to have been given the opportunity to work at the Alpine School Campus. It is located in a very special part of the Victorian Alps and the team of staff who I work with are all committed and highly capable. They too, also share a love for the outdoors and their local environment. Working with students from across the State, brings a range of life experiences to the school, whether it be from a country or city perspective, our students are all very special.

Within my teaching, I have spent the past 20 consecutive years working with adolescents in a number of different residential schools and programs within Victoria. I have worked at Lauriston’s Howqua Campus, spent six years at Geelong Grammar School’s Timbertop Campus in a variety of educational roles including the Director of Outdoor Education and also taught at Wesley College’s Clunes Campus. All of these places have been highly rewarding, unique to their setting, memorable and highly experiential and I am grateful to have worked in such wonderful environments within Victoria.

Educationally, I have pursued studies in the areas of Automotive Mechanics, Applied Science (Recreation Planning and Management), Outdoor Education, Health and Physical Education, SOSE and ESL and completed a Certificate in Positive Education with The University of Melbourne. Most recently, I have enrolled in a Diploma of Positive Psychology course that I am still working on completing. I have also been fortunate enough to spent time visiting indigenous communities in Northern Australia and again most recently in leading groups of students to China through my current work. I am appreciative of these opportunities as I continue to learn.

Family. I live in Bright with Kathryn and we have three beautiful and energetic boys, whose teenage and adolescent years are flourishing at present; Alex (aged 20), Matthew (aged 18) and William (aged 16). Apart from my love of spending time with my family, my interests extend to football, fishing, cycling, camping, landscape photography and cross-country skiing.